Archives and Special Collections
92 Snell Library
360 Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA 02115
(617) 373-2351

Table of Contents

Collection Overview

Historical Note


Printable Finding Aid

Search All Finding Aids

Archival Collections

Manuscript Collections
Archives and Special Collections Finding Aids
Title: Office of University Administration records
Call Number:A34

Historical Note

President Asa S. Knowles created the Office of University Administration in 1960 by merging the Offices of Academic Affairs and Dean of Administration in order to manage the growth that Northeastern University had experienced throughout the 1950s.  Kenneth G. Ryder, whom Knowles had appointed Dean of Administration two years earlier, headed the new office.  Ryder managed academic-administrative support services, including research, admissions, the Registrar's office, and the University Libraries.  Academic deans reported to Ryder as well.  Authority for Personnel was added during Rudolph M. Morris' tenure.  The Office originally reported to the Office of the Provost, but after 1967 University Administration reported directly to the President of the University. 

Over the next 30 years, the head of University Administration's title was changed several times, though he retained much the same responsibilities.  By 1979 University Administration added the Office of Affirmative Action (a new office) and the Urban Schools Collaborative (formerly part of the Phase II desegregation program, now a permanent University office) to its list of responsibilities.  In 1980 Executive Vice President Curry named Patricia Schaen and Christopher Kennedy Deans of Administration.  They oversaw admissions, the Registrar's office, and the Libraries, while Curry retained direct responsibility for all other aspects of the Office, including Personnel, Affirmative Action, and the Urban Schools Collaborative.  In 1991 the Office of University Administration was dissolved and its responsibilities were divided between the offices of the President and the Provost.
1960-1967 Dean of Administration – Kenneth G. Ryder
1967-1970Vice President of University Administration – Kenneth G. Ryder
1970-1974Dean of Administration – Rudolph M. Morris
1974-1975Vice President of University Administration – John A. Curry
1975-1989Executive Vice President – John A. Curry
1989-1991Senior Vice President of Administration – Phillip T. Crotty